Textiles

The course encourages a creative approach to Textile Design allowing you to specialise in Fashion, Textiles, Interiors, Fine Art Textiles, Art, sustainability and Costume design. These resources give you a starting point to explore the different areas within the subject.

Read:

Your starting point for any design project will be research and recording ideas. Read and watch the blog post Zandra Rhodes: Processes, Practices and the Importance of Sketching

https://fashiontextilemuseumblog.wordpress.com/2020/05/29/zandra-rhodes-processes-practices-and-the-importance-of-sketching/

Journals - Also available online

Art Monthly Art Review https://www.artmonthly.co.uk/

Contemporary Crafts Magazine https://www.craftscouncil.org.uk/

Creative Review https://www.creativereview.co.uk/

Design Magazine https://www.dezeen.com/

Drapers https://www.drapersonline.com/

Elle Decoration https://www.elledecoration.co.uk/

GQ https://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/?international

Selvedge – Selvedge Ltd https://www.selvedge.org/

Vogue Web https://www.vogue.co.uk/

Online:

Textile & Fibre Artists https://www.textileartist.org/

Collate inspiration in folders https://www.pinterest.co.uk/

British Fashion Council https://www.britishfashioncouncil.co.uk/

Crafts Council www.craftscouncil.org.uk

Design Council www.design-council.org.uk

Design Museum www.designmuseum.org

Drapers Magazine www.drapersonline.com/fashion/index.html

Costume timelines www.fashion-era.com/C20th_costume_history

www.manchestergalleries.org/our-other-venues/platthall-gallery-of-costume/the-collection

Victoria and Albert Museum www.vam.ac.uk

Vogue Magazine www.vogue.co.uk

Listen:

https://www.fashionrevolution.org/resources/listen-to-the-fashion-revolution-podcast/- Interested in sustainablity and working towards making change.++

https://www.iheart.com/podcast/105-dressed-the-history-of-fas-29000690/- Dressed: The History of Fashion explores both social and cultural histories of clothing

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds listen to interviews with some of the world’s greatest designers, including Vivienne Westwood, Zandra Rhodes, Celia Birtwell and Anya Hindmarch on Desert Island Discs.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/ Look for Podcasts on textile designers, fabrics and the history of Textiles.

Watch:

Now is a great time to see what is happening in the virtual world of museums and galleries. Here is a selection:

DESIGN MUSEUM - Stella McCartney and Sir David Adjaye, in an exciting discussion on sustainable fashion and architecture. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgLKhYJkIoA-

V & A - The V&A museum has launched a series of five films on YouTube that takes viewers on a personal, 30-minute behind-the-scenes tour of its Kimono: Kyoto to Catwalk exhibition

  1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=99&v=oEf0iFNTVGw&feat
  2. ure=emb_logo
  3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hG6UVZexmc8
  4. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvyC_pqYhvwhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oz1AzscxHjk
  5. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OSgNdkcg9To

Royal Academy of Arts- Picasso & Paper exhibition https://www.royalacademy.org.uk/article/picasso-and-paper-virtual-exhibition-tou